

REPORT OF: CHIEF EXECUTIVE

TO: POLICY COUNCIL

ON: 30th November 2023

COUNCIL APPOINTMENTS 2023/24 - Update

1. PURPOSE OF THE REPORT

To provide an update on the composition and the political balance of the Council as detailed in **Appendix 1**, and approve the revised Council appointments for the remainder of Council year 2023/24.

2. BACKGROUND

Council Appointments for 2023/24 were initially approved at Annual Council on 18 May 2023.

Further to the updated Council Appointments approved at Council Forum on 5 October 2023 (reporting the updated political composition and appointments following the resignation of Councillor Hussain Akhtar from the Council's Labour Group), Councillors Mustafa Desai, Sajid Ali, Salim Sidat, Samim Desai, Suleman Khonat, Salma Patel and Abdul Patel have formally resigned from the Council's Labour Group. Councillor Mohammed Irfan has also left the Council's Labour Group. Under Regulation 8 of the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990, a new political group, "4BwD Independent Group" has been constituted consisting of: Councillors Mustafa Desai, Sajid Ali, Salim Sidat MBE, Samim Desai, Mohammed Irfan, Suleman Khonat, Salma Patel, and Abdul Patel. The Leader of new political group is Councillor Mustafa Desai and the Deputy Leader(s) are Councillor Salim Sidat MBE and Councillor Suleman Khonat.

The current political composition of the Council is as follows:

Labour 30 seats
Conservative 11 seats
4BwD Independent Group 8 seats
Independent 2 seats
Total 51 Seats

The Local Government and Housing Act 1989 ("the Act") imposes a duty on the Council to allocate seats on committees to political groups in accordance with the size of each group as a whole, unless alternative arrangements are notified to all Members and agreed without any councillor voting against them. The Council is required to observe the following principles as far as it is reasonably practicable:

(a) that not all seats on the body are allocated to the same group;

- (b) that the majority of seats on the body are allocated to a particular political group if the number of persons belonging to that group is a majority of the authority's membership;
- (c) subject to paragraphs (a) and (b) above, that the number of seats on the ordinary committees of a relevant authority which are allocated to each political group bears the same proportion to the total of all the seats on the ordinary committees of that authority as is borne by the number of Members of that group to the membership of the authority; and
- (d) subject to paragraphs (a) to (c) above, that the number of seats on the body which are allocated to each political group bears the same proportion to the number of all the seats on that body as is borne by the number of Members of that group to the membership of the authority.

In light of the change to the political composition, the proportionality and allocation of seats on council committees to political groups has been reviewed and detailed in **Appendix 2**

3 **RECOMMENDATIONS**

That Council:

- 1) notes the current political composition and political balance on the Council, as referred to in **Appendix 1**;
- note the Leader's appointment of the Executive Board Members, Deputy Leaders and Assistant Executive Members; (as detailed in the **Appendix 2**)
- 3) notes the Shadow Executive Members and Shadow Assistant Executive Members; (as detailed in the **Appendix 2**),
- 4) Approve the appointment of Chairs, Vice Chairs and Members to the Committees as detailed in **Appendix 2**:

Denise Park Chief Executive 20th November 2023

Background Papers: The Local Government and Housing Act 1989,

Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990, Council Constitution

(all published)

Contact Officers: Asad Laher, Deputy Director - Legal &

Governance